PACK CHECK · MARKET FIRST

OXYCONTINGeneric nameoxycodone hydrochloride extended-release tablets

Reading size

How this medicine works

The current label describes oxycodone as an opioid agonist and OXYCONTIN as an extended-release tablet. Pharmacology and release design help explain analgesia, sedation, respiratory depression, constipation and dependence risk, but cannot derive an individual's tablet count, conversion from another opioid, splitting or taper/stopping timing.

Read source: United States ↗Current regulatory record · reviewed 2026-08-30More about its action and precautions →

Check the market, names, dosage form and route together

A medicine may use different brand names across markets. Keep the market, brand, generic name, dosage form and route together; one matching field does not prove that two packs are the same or interchangeable.

Open the complete product-identity record

Use these fields when the pack, market name or package image needs closer checking. They are evidence boundaries, not substitution instructions.

International brand name
OXYCONTIN
Source-scoped market brand names
  • OXYCONTIN · United StatesCurrent regulator record ↗
    The current DailyMed label lists NDA 022272, CII, seven strengths and exact packages; it does not establish actual stock or another market's status.

The evidence status and note below apply only to the stated market and source. They do not prove that packs in different markets can be substituted.

Generic name
oxycodone hydrochloride extended-release tablets
Dosage-form class
Oxycodone hydrochloride film-coated extended-release tablets; must be swallowed whole. Do not cut, break, chew, crush or dissolve. Immediate-release oxycodone, oxycodone/acetaminophen combinations, another oxycodone extended-release capsule and the historical original formulation are not merged into this dossier.
Route
Oral; must be swallowed whole (higher-risk extended-release product-identity field)
Package-image status
A source-linked public label image is available below

No source-verifiable mainland-China trade-name cue has been established for this record. This does not establish whether the medicine exists, is approved or is available in mainland China. Check pack text and current CDE/NMPA records item by item.

FOR EVERYDAY QUESTIONS

After the leaflet, continue with the question you still need to check

What this pack is

OXYCONTIN is the brand name in this record; oxycodone hydrochloride extended-release tablets is the generic name. Read both together with the dosage form (oral tablet).

What this page can show

This is a source-traceable public record. It helps you read the product identity and its listed source documents; each market still needs its own current record check.

What to bring to the next conversation

Bring the actual pack, the label or prescription, and a complete medicine list when you speak with a pharmacist or clinician.

PRODUCT PRESENTATION IDENTITY

Strength, pack and device identity

Package strength is not an individual dose. These fields help identify the exact labelled product; they do not calculate how much, how often, a missed-use action, splitting, switching or conversion.

How to read a score line: ‘scored’ or ‘unscored’ first identifies this labelled presentation. A score line by itself does not permit self-splitting, reducing or changing the product. Only an explicit statement in the current label for this exact presentation, checked with a pharmacist against the prescription, can support any further handling.

7 source-backed strength, pack or device records — open the full list

First match the market, dosage form and labelled amount on the pack in hand. The number of tablets, sachets or devices in a pack is not a personal dose or schedule.

United States label · Current U.S. DailyMed public label (SPL v44, effective 24 Jun 2026)

Oxycodone hydrochloride 10 mg per tablet; 100-tablet child-resistant bottle

Exact display panel in the cited public label · select to enlarge
Product code
NDC 59011-410-10
Form and route
OXYCONTIN oxycodone hydrochloride extended-release oral tablet · oral; must be swallowed whole
Container
child-resistant bottle
Listing review
Current label display and NDC Directory listing reviewed 2026-08-30; actual marketing, stock and availability are not established.
oxycodone hydrochloride (per tablet)
10 mglabelled amount per tablet; not an individual's tablet count, frequency, conversion or missed-use instruction
Package
100 tablets per bottle
Labelled appearance
white · round, biconvex, film-coated extended-release tablet · imprint OP / 10The label does not state a score status and requires the tablet to be swallowed whole
Open the presentation source ↗Current regulatory record · reviewed 2026-08-30

United States label · Current U.S. DailyMed public label (SPL v44, effective 24 Jun 2026)

Oxycodone hydrochloride 15 mg per tablet; 100-tablet child-resistant bottle

Exact display panel in the cited public label · select to enlarge
Product code
NDC 59011-415-10
Form and route
OXYCONTIN oxycodone hydrochloride extended-release oral tablet · oral; must be swallowed whole
Container
child-resistant bottle
Listing review
Current label display and NDC Directory listing reviewed 2026-08-30; actual marketing, stock and availability are not established.
oxycodone hydrochloride (per tablet)
15 mglabelled amount per tablet; not an individual's tablet count, frequency, conversion or missed-use instruction
Package
100 tablets per bottle
Labelled appearance
gray · round, biconvex, film-coated extended-release tablet · imprint OP / 15The label does not state a score status and requires the tablet to be swallowed whole
Open the presentation source ↗Current regulatory record · reviewed 2026-08-30

United States label · Current U.S. DailyMed public label (SPL v44, effective 24 Jun 2026)

Oxycodone hydrochloride 20 mg per tablet; 100-tablet child-resistant bottle

Exact display panel in the cited public label · select to enlarge
Product code
NDC 59011-420-10
Form and route
OXYCONTIN oxycodone hydrochloride extended-release oral tablet · oral; must be swallowed whole
Container
child-resistant bottle
Listing review
Current label display and NDC Directory listing reviewed 2026-08-30; actual marketing, stock and availability are not established.
oxycodone hydrochloride (per tablet)
20 mglabelled amount per tablet; not an individual's tablet count, frequency, conversion or missed-use instruction
Package
100 tablets per bottle
Labelled appearance
pink · round, biconvex, film-coated extended-release tablet · imprint OP / 20The label does not state a score status and requires the tablet to be swallowed whole
Open the presentation source ↗Current regulatory record · reviewed 2026-08-30

United States label · Current U.S. DailyMed public label (SPL v44, effective 24 Jun 2026)

Oxycodone hydrochloride 30 mg per tablet; 100-tablet child-resistant bottle

Exact display panel in the cited public label · select to enlarge
Product code
NDC 59011-430-10
Form and route
OXYCONTIN oxycodone hydrochloride extended-release oral tablet · oral; must be swallowed whole
Container
child-resistant bottle
Listing review
Current label display and NDC Directory listing reviewed 2026-08-30; actual marketing, stock and availability are not established.
oxycodone hydrochloride (per tablet)
30 mglabelled amount per tablet; not an individual's tablet count, frequency, conversion or missed-use instruction
Package
100 tablets per bottle
Labelled appearance
brown · round, biconvex, film-coated extended-release tablet · imprint OP / 30The label does not state a score status and requires the tablet to be swallowed whole
Open the presentation source ↗Current regulatory record · reviewed 2026-08-30

United States label · Current U.S. DailyMed public label (SPL v44, effective 24 Jun 2026)

Oxycodone hydrochloride 40 mg per tablet; 100-tablet child-resistant bottle

Exact display panel in the cited public label · select to enlarge
Product code
NDC 59011-440-10
Form and route
OXYCONTIN oxycodone hydrochloride extended-release oral tablet · oral; must be swallowed whole
Container
child-resistant bottle
Listing review
Current label display and NDC Directory listing reviewed 2026-08-30; actual marketing, stock and availability are not established.
oxycodone hydrochloride (per tablet)
40 mglabelled amount per tablet; not an individual's tablet count, frequency, conversion or missed-use instruction
Package
100 tablets per bottle
Labelled appearance
yellow · round, biconvex, film-coated extended-release tablet · imprint OP / 40The label does not state a score status and requires the tablet to be swallowed whole
Open the presentation source ↗Current regulatory record · reviewed 2026-08-30

United States label · Current U.S. DailyMed public label (SPL v44, effective 24 Jun 2026)

Oxycodone hydrochloride 60 mg per tablet; 100-tablet child-resistant bottle; label states for opioid-tolerant patients only

Exact display panel in the cited public label · select to enlarge
Product code
NDC 59011-460-10
Form and route
OXYCONTIN oxycodone hydrochloride extended-release oral tablet · oral; must be swallowed whole
Container
child-resistant bottle
Listing review
Current label display and NDC Directory listing reviewed 2026-08-30; actual marketing, stock and availability are not established.
oxycodone hydrochloride (per tablet)
60 mglabelled amount per tablet; not an individual's tablet count, frequency, conversion or missed-use instruction
Package
100 tablets per bottle
Labelled appearance
red · round, biconvex, film-coated extended-release tablet · imprint OP / 60The label does not state a score status and requires the tablet to be swallowed whole
Open the presentation source ↗Current regulatory record · reviewed 2026-08-30

United States label · Current U.S. DailyMed public label (SPL v44, effective 24 Jun 2026)

Oxycodone hydrochloride 80 mg per tablet; 100-tablet child-resistant bottle; label states for opioid-tolerant patients only

Exact display panel in the cited public label · select to enlarge
Product code
NDC 59011-480-10
Form and route
OXYCONTIN oxycodone hydrochloride extended-release oral tablet · oral; must be swallowed whole
Container
child-resistant bottle
Listing review
Current label display and NDC Directory listing reviewed 2026-08-30; actual marketing, stock and availability are not established.
oxycodone hydrochloride (per tablet)
80 mglabelled amount per tablet; not an individual's tablet count, frequency, conversion or missed-use instruction
Package
100 tablets per bottle
Labelled appearance
green · round, biconvex, film-coated extended-release tablet · imprint OP / 80The label does not state a score status and requires the tablet to be swallowed whole
Open the presentation source ↗Current regulatory record · reviewed 2026-08-30

PUBLIC LABEL IMAGE

Appearance and package-text clues

United States · current public-label panel · exact package/label image · Primary-source record (open linked document)Select the image to enlarge; press Escape to close

This current public-label package panel helps check the brand, generic name, strength and dosage-form clues only. It does not authenticate a product in hand or establish originator status, availability, sale eligibility, another package or another market.

Open the public label source ↗

LABEL READING · NOT A PRESCRIPTION

OXYCONTIN label reading: swallow the extended-release tablet whole and prioritise respiratory-depression and duplicate-sedation risks

Reading level: drug-specific label reading. This record has been expanded around its dosage form or a higher-risk reading question; the current target-market label and professional review still apply.

This module enlarges the exact extended-release tablet, package, whole-tablet boundary and high-risk medicine-list cues in the current U.S. label. It does not decide individual use or generate tablet count, frequency, conversion, initiation, missed-use, tapering or stopping.

  • OXYCONTIN is an extended-release tablet and must be swallowed whole. Cutting, breaking, chewing, crushing or dissolving can defeat the controlled release and expose a person to a potentially fatal oxycodone dose; the label does not describe a self-splitting score. If swallowing is difficult, do not alter the tablet—contact the prescriber or pharmacist.
  • Serious, life-threatening or fatal respiratory depression can occur and requires particular professional monitoring after initiation or change. Older, frail people, those with chronic lung disease or reduced respiratory reserve, and anyone with unusual sleepiness, difficulty waking, slow or shallow breathing, blue lips or altered consciousness need priority attention; severe signs require local emergency services immediately.
  • Benzodiazepine sleeping/anxiety medicines, other sedative-hypnotics, other opioids, anaesthetics, some antipsychotics, gabapentinoids and alcohol can increase profound sedation, respiratory depression, coma and death when present with OXYCONTIN. Separating clock times does not establish safety; place every prescription, OTC medicine, alcohol exposure and supplement on one list for a clinician or pharmacist.
  • The label restricts 60 mg, 80 mg and certain higher-exposure situations to people with established opioid tolerance. Prior pain-medicine use, body weight, a pain score or leftover tablets cannot let a webpage establish tolerance; do not self-escalate strength, convert another opioid or use another person's medicine.
  • Accidental ingestion of even one tablet by a child or person for whom it was not prescribed can be fatal. Store it locked away from children and visitors, use local take-back or official disposal routes, and never share, give away or leave it unsecured. If accidental ingestion is suspected, do not wait for symptoms or a webpage—contact local emergency/poison services immediately.
  • Starting, stopping or changing a strong CYP3A4 inhibitor or inducer may alter oxycodone exposure; serotonergic medicines may contribute to serotonin syndrome; MAO inhibitors and recent MAO-inhibitor use also require strict review. Do not self-separate, stop, switch or adjust any medicine from a class name.
  • Constipation, distension, vomiting or suspected obstruction needs prompt assessment; known or suspected gastrointestinal obstruction is a labelled contraindication. A webpage cannot distinguish ordinary constipation, an opioid-related problem or an acute abdomen and cannot replace examination.
  • Naloxone can be used in an opioid-overdose emergency, but whether to have it, how to obtain it and how to use it requires local clinical or pharmacy instruction. If a person cannot be awakened, has abnormal breathing or an overdose is suspected, call local emergency services immediately rather than relying only on a webpage or household observation.
Open this record's official electronic leaflet ↗

PHARMACOVIGILANCE · OFFICIAL ROUTES

Check safety information in the right market

Start with the public label or product record linked to this dossier, then use the official safety routes below for the market that applies to the medicine in hand.

Match five details before using a safety record

  1. Brand and generic nameBoth must match the medicine named by the record.
  2. Dosage form and strengthTablet, capsule, injection, inhaler, patch and eye drop are not interchangeable.
  3. Market and notice dateA record applies only to the country or region and date it names.
  4. Lot, pack and manufacturerRecord these only when the official notice specifically names them.
  5. Current product informationA historical record may have been superseded by the current label.

This checklist only helps organise the right question. It does not create a personal conclusion about stopping, switching, dose, combination or suitability.

This dossier’s product-level source checkU.S. National Library of Medicine DailyMed · United States · Public medicine label · 2026-08-30

This dossier’s publicly accessible product-level route has been checked individually. It does not mean that real-time alerts in every country or region have been searched, or that the medicine has or does not have a current risk.

Markets actually represented by the reviewed product documents
  • United States · 1

This is a document-coverage summary, not a claim that the medicine is authorised, supplied, interchangeable or actively monitored in every listed market today.

No dated, product-scoped official safety record is currently listed in this directory

This is not a conclusion that the medicine has no risk, warning, recall or newer notice in another market. Start with the checked product-level label above, then use the official market gateways below for the product in hand.

See the reviewed safety-record directory →

Global official safety gateways

  • NMPA Centre for Drug Reevaluation · Mainland ChinaPrimary NMPA Drug Evaluation Centre gateway for drug-vigilance bulletins, safety notices and adverse-reaction monitoring. Exact products still require checking approval number, dosage form, strength, authorisation holder and notice date item by item.Drug-vigilance bulletins and safety notices ↗reviewed 2026-08-22
  • FDA · United StatesPrimary FDA pages for important new safety issues, labelling changes and risk communications.Drug Safety Communications ↗reviewed 2026-08-22
  • FDA MedWatch · United StatesU.S. MedWatch safety-information and reporting gateway; a report does not itself establish causality.Safety information and serious-problem reporting ↗reviewed 2026-08-22
  • EMA · European Union / European Economic AreaOfficial EU gateway for pharmacovigilance, suspected adverse-reaction reports and PRAC safety assessment.Pharmacovigilance overview and EudraVigilance ↗reviewed 2026-08-22
  • MHRA · United KingdomPrimary UK MHRA medicine-safety updates for professionals and the public.Drug Safety Update ↗reviewed 2026-08-22
  • PMDA · JapanPMDA’s English official safety gateway; exact products still require checking against the Japanese product page and current documents.Medicine safety information ↗reviewed 2026-08-22
  • MFDS · Republic of KoreaMFDS’s primary index for medicine safety letters in the Republic of Korea. The original notices are in Korean and must be read against the named product, dosage form, market and date; they do not automatically apply in another market or decide an individual case.Medicine safety letters ↗reviewed 2026-08-22
  • HSA · SingaporeHSA’s public Singapore gateway for suspected adverse-event reporting and medicine-safety information. A report does not itself establish individual causality; exact products still require checking Singapore registration status, dosage form, strength, date and current product information.Adverse-event reporting and medicine-safety information ↗reviewed 2026-08-22
  • Health Canada · CanadaHealth Canada’s public MedEffect gateway for medicine and health-product advisories, warnings, recalls, reporting and safety information. Exact products still require checking market, dosage form, strength, notice date and lot item by item.MedEffect Canada: advisories, warnings and recalls ↗reviewed 2026-08-22
  • TGA · AustraliaPrimary Australian TGA safety alerts, advisories and monitoring information for therapeutic products.Medicine safety alerts ↗reviewed 2026-08-22
  • Swissmedic · SwitzerlandOfficial Swissmedic gateway for pharmacovigilance, signal assessment and suspected adverse-reaction reporting; a report or signal does not itself confirm individual causality.Pharmacovigilance and suspected adverse-reaction reporting ↗reviewed 2026-08-22
  • Medsafe · New ZealandNew Zealand Medsafe gateway for public and professional medicine safety communications and archives; older notices may have been superseded by current product information.Medicine safety communications ↗reviewed 2026-08-22
  • SAHPRA · South AfricaSAHPRA’s safety-information, alerts and pharmacovigilance gateway for the public and professionals in South Africa. An official alert does not itself mean a product is unsafe in every circumstance; exact products still require checking South African registration status, dosage form, strength, notice date and current product information.Medicine safety information, alerts and pharmacovigilance ↗reviewed 2026-08-22
  • WHO · GlobalWHO’s cross-market safety-alert archive; every historical notice must be read against its date, named product and market.Medicine and vaccine safety-alert archive ↗reviewed 2026-08-22
  • Anvisa · BrazilAnvisa’s primary Brazilian pharmacovigilance gateway for alerts, bulletins, risk communication and VigiMed reporting. Exact products still require checking Brazilian authorisation status, dosage form, strength and notice date item by item.Pharmacovigilance, alerts and VigiMed ↗reviewed 2026-08-22

This card brings together the medicine-specific product route and 15 market-level official vigilance gateways. It does not mean real-time alerts for this medicine have been searched in every country or region, or that the medicine has a new alert, recall or risk conclusion. Match brand, generic name, dosage form, strength, market and notice date item by item; do not self-stop, switch, increase or reduce use from a headline.

For severe or rapidly worsening symptoms, suspected overdose, a severe allergic reaction, loss of consciousness or another emergency, use local emergency services. Do not wait for an online alert search or change a medicine from this page.

PRIVATE FAMILY LIST

Bring this record into a local medicine list

Only the brand, generic name, dosage form and route are added, and they stay in this browser. Copy strength, label directions, start/stop history and any concern from the actual pack; this tool does not calculate a dose or decide combination, switching or stopping.

Add to the family medicine list →

PACK · LABEL · MEDICINE LIST

Six checks for this medicine pack

Use this card to organise questions about OXYCONTIN (oxycodone hydrochloride extended-release tablets). Keep the exact pack, its current label and the full medicine list together.

  1. Identify the exact product

    OXYCONTIN is the brand in this record and oxycodone hydrochloride extended-release tablets is the active-ingredient name. Check both with the dosage form (Oxycodone hydrochloride film-coated extended-release tablets; must be swallowed whole. Do not cut, break, chew, crush or dissolve. Immediate-release oxycodone, oxycodone/acetaminophen combinations, another oxycodone extended-release capsule and the historical original formulation are not merged into this dossier.) and the market on the actual pack.

  2. Read the labelled strength in context

    mg, mcg, mg/mL or a percentage describes the labelled amount in one tablet, capsule, measured volume, spray or other unit. It is not an answer to how many units a person should take.

  3. Check before splitting or opening

    Before splitting, crushing, chewing or opening anything, find an explicit instruction for this exact product in its current label and ask a pharmacist. A score line or a previous pack is not enough by itself.

  4. Put every product on one list

    Include prescriptions, over-the-counter products, eye drops, creams, vitamins, minerals, herbs and supplements. A pharmacist or prescriber needs the whole list before any combination, alternation, switch or stop is considered.

  5. Ask a specific pharmacogenetics question

    Ask which medicine, which gene and what clinical decision a result could change. A gene–drug association does not mean broad genetic testing is needed for everyone and must not be used to change treatment without professional review.

  6. Know when to seek urgent help

    For a suspected overdose, a severe allergic reaction, fainting or difficulty breathing, use the local emergency or poison-information service now. Do not wait for a website reply or alter several medicines to test what caused it.

This card does not calculate a dose, decide whether medicines can be combined, or replace a clinician or pharmacist. Market-specific current labels and the person's full context still need review.

HOW IT WORKS · NOT A TREATMENT PLAN

How oxycodone works: opioid-receptor agonism and extended release are not personal conversion rules

  • Extended release means the release design is part of product identity; it does not mean milder effects or lower risk. Altering the tablet can turn its release characteristics into dangerous exposure.
  • A shared ingredient or opioid class does not make OXYCONTIN self-convertible, combinable or alternatable by milligrams with immediate-release oxycodone, an oxycodone combination, fentanyl patch, morphine or another extended-release product.
  • A mechanism page cannot determine the cause of worsening pain, unusual sleepiness, breathing change, a fall, altered consciousness or withdrawal-like symptoms. Do not change several medicines at once; contact the prescribing team and use local emergency services for acute severe signs.
Open the primary pharmacology source ↗

SOURCE EVIDENCE REGISTER

Source evidence map

Every public link is labelled with its market, document status and document type. A historical public record is not a current label, and an official lookup entry is not a product-specific record.

SOURCE-TRACEABLE ARCHIVE

OXYCONTINoxycodone hydrochloride extended-release tablets

This page includes an exact current U.S. public-label package panel for OXYCONTIN, alongside documentary primary-source material. It helps check product identity, but does not itself establish originator status, product quality, availability or sale eligibility.

DOCUMENT TIMELINE

Document timeline

  1. Initial U.S. approval year for oxycodone

    The current label states Initial U.S. Approval: 1950; this is active-ingredient history and is not presented as the approval year for the OXYCONTIN brand or current reformulation.

    DailyMed (NLM): current U.S. OXYCONTIN oxycodone hydrochloride extended-release tablet public label (Knoa Pharma; SPL v44, effective 24 Jun 2026) ↗
  2. Current reformulation NDA 022272 review milestone

    FDA medical-review material distinguishes the NDA 022272 reformulation from historical original formulation NDA 020553 and describes its greater resistance to physical and chemical manipulation.

    FDA: medical-review material for current-formulation OXYCONTIN NDA 022272 (2010) ↗
  3. Current public label effective

    DailyMed SPL v44 lists seven strengths, fourteen NDCs (bottles and unit-dose packs) and current safety information; this page maps only the seven 100-tablet bottles one to one.

    DailyMed (NLM): current U.S. OXYCONTIN oxycodone hydrochloride extended-release tablet public label (Knoa Pharma; SPL v44, effective 24 Jun 2026) ↗

MARKET SCOPE

Market-record boundary

United States

Current NDA label and seven exact bottle panels established

An exact label and NDC do not establish actual stock, purchase eligibility, individual suitability or interchangeability.

Mainland China and other markets

Current regulatory records not yet established

No local approval, trade name, supply, originator/generic relationship or lawful purchase channel is inferred from the U.S. name, shared ingredient or package appearance.

How to read this record

Read each document in its stated market, date and dosage-form context. A historical record is not a current label and does not support individual medical, substitution or purchasing conclusions.

Keep international and mainland China records separate

This page has a U.S. public history/regulatory archive but no mainland China record for this specific product. That does not establish whether the medicine exists, is approved or is available in mainland China. Verify product identity, dosage form, strength, holder and the current label item by item.

CDE listed-drug directory ↗ NMPA public query ↗

RECORD FAQ

Record questions

Can a large tablet be split or crushed?

Do not do this from a webpage or appearance. The current label requires swallowing whole; cutting, breaking, chewing, crushing or dissolving may release a potentially fatal dose. Contact the prescriber or pharmacist promptly about a safe alternative if swallowing is difficult.

Is a sleeping medicine safe if taken at a different time?

A webpage cannot establish that. Benzodiazepines, other sedatives, alcohol and other CNS depressants may add to profound sedation, respiratory depression, coma and death with OXYCONTIN; separating times does not prove safety, so the full list needs review.

Can 10 mg and 20 mg be converted by tablet count because one is double?

No. Labelled strength is a per-tablet identity, not a personal converter. Opioid conversion, tolerance, co-medication, hepatic/renal/pulmonary status and stopping risk require professional assessment; do not self-combine, halve, alternate or use another person's medicine.

READ NEXT

Related reading

Evidence status

The listed links are public sources selected for traceability. They must be rechecked against the current target-market record before any use beyond reading and research.

EDITORIAL RECORD

Who prepared and checked this page

Byline
OriginDrug Content Editorial
Review role
Public primary-source verification
Last reviewed
2026-08-30
Source record
2 clickable primary-source entry points are listed with this dossier.

The review role checks source traceability, stated market, document version and product-identity fields. It is not a claim of clinical licensure, prescribing authority or individual pharmacy service. Read the editorial policy.

Search records
Enlarged public-label image